PLATO Input Catalogue Workshop, 24-26 Sep 2019, Padua

This workshop is the first meeting of a series of thematic PLATO Input Catalog (PIC) workshops that aim at bringing together all researchers interested in building up a catalog of PLATO targets to be monitored during the mission lifetime.

A PLATO input catalog including positions and main parameters of PLATO targets is crucial to preselect the stars most appropriate for the main mission goal. High precision light curves of stars in the PLATO fields will be collected with a cadence between 2.5 sec to 50 sec (duty cycle > 93% / year). The enormous data rate does not allow us to download the single images. Imagettes around up to 20000 stars, and light curves for up to one million stars will be processed on-board and sent to Earth.

During the workshop, researchers interested in exoplanet science, stellar astrophysics and complementary science will have the opportunity to discuss the PLATO target selection, prioritization and characterization.

For details of the event,  please go to the meeting page:


From 24th to 26th September 2019.


The workshop will be held at “Sala Consiliare” at the Santo Stefano Palace, Provincia di Padova headquarters, located in Antenor’s square.
Further information about the location can be found at the following links:


  • Registration (is open until July 1st)
    The deadline for contributed talk submissions is June 15th.
  • Agenda



  • Giampaolo Piotto (Università degli Studi di Padova) (chair)
  • Conny Aerts (Institute of Astronomy, KU Leuven)(Instituut voor Sterrenkunde)
  • Magali Deleuil (Laboratoire d’Astrophysique de Marseille)
  • Silvano Desidera (INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova)
  • Marie-Jo Goupil (LESIA Observatoire de Paris)
  • Paola Marrese (SSDC INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Roma)
  • Marco Montalto (Università degli Studi di Padova)
  • Valerio Nascimbeni (INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova)
  • Don Pollacco (University of Warwick)
  • Stéphane Udry (Observatoire de Genève)


  • Valentina Granata (Università degli Studi di Padova) (chair)
  • Silvano Desidera (INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova)
  • Vincenzo Mezzalira (Università degli Studi di Padova)
  • Valerio Nascimbeni (INAF-Osservatorio Astronomico di Padova)
  • Giampaolo Piotto (Università degli Studi di Padova)
  • Stefano Salvadori (Università degli Studi di Padova)